Mills, Docs and Drapers: A Brief History of Highfields House, Bloxwich

Posted: August 8, 2014 in Buildings, Family History, Houses, Landscapes, Mills
The 1" OS Map, 1834. Surveyed earlier. (Walsall Local History Centre)

The 1″ OS Map, 1834. Surveyed earlier.
(Walsall Local History Centre)

A few days ago I was asked about a now lost property in Bloxwich called Highfield House. Dipping my toe into the potential sources only showed me that the house itself was difficult to trace and I realised pretty quickly that I would have to chart a wider area. So I set myself a challenge – in this case a Time Team styled time limit. Whilst at the end of it I didn’t expect to produce a definitive article, I did hope at least to shine a little light on Highfields House for those that are interested. So, what is out there and what could I discover? As Tony Robinson would say, I had just three hours to find out. https://wyrleyblog.wordpress.com/walsall/mills-docs-and-drapers-a-brief-history-of-highfields-house-bloxwich/

Comments
  1. […] bit of detective work in Walsall after a body was fopund in the canal at Pleck in 1915, and on the history of Highfields House in Bloxwich (Highfields is a remarkably common name, it seems, a point other historians may wish to consider […]

Leave a Reply

